#RPGaDay 2016: Day 30 – Describe the ideal game room if your budget were unlimited.

Unlimited budget you say?

static1.squarespace.com

First of all, I’d like a room exclusively for tabletop RPGs. Until now, we’ve played in cafes, living rooms, dining rooms and offices so I’d like to have a room in my house just for that. And the room would have to be quite big because I want a huge gaming table.

The table itself would be a masterpiece, with integrated dice rollers for each player, drawers for dice, pencils and anything else that would be needed. I wouldn’t say no to a touchscreen on it so I can change maps easily and show my players pictures. And of course it would have enough space for snacks!

But don’t forget the chairs. They have to be the best, most comfortable anatomic chairs there are. Our hobby involves sitting on a chair for many hours and that can be quite bad for our body.

Another awesome thing for my game room would be a sound system that can be programmed to play music or sounds when a particular word or a phrase is spoken. So when I’d say “Roll initiative” it would play the piece of music I’d have chosen for the combat encounters for that session. Or when I’d say “You are in the tavern” it would play some tavern ambiance.

Moving on, at least one wall in the room would be covered by a floor to ceiling bookcase. I want to have a fair amount of space for my RPG books. I don’t really have many of them at the moment but my collection is getting bigger.

And last but not least, I’d like a huge cabinet(or three) for my dice, minis, board games and anything else that I might need to store in my game room.

That’s all. I know I could have gone super crazy and describe not a game room but a gaming skyscraper with virtual reality rooms and anything else that would make it a gaming heaven. However, I decided to talk about a room that I could actually own some day.

Tomorrow’s question, which is also the last one, is: “What is the best piece of advice you were ever given for your game of choice?”.

So until then, have fun!

Leave a Reply

